A Life Less Ordinary by Victoria Bernadine

lifelessWith all these April showers, it is clear that summer is right around the corner. Have you started your pool-side reading list yet? Is ‘A Life Less Ordinary’ on it? No? What are you waiting for?
I was hooked on this book pretty much from page one. Manny is the type of character readers can relate to, whether they have anything in common with her or not. Forty-five year old Manny quits her job and recruits a virtual stranger to accompany her on a six-month road trip across Canada and the US. Whether you’ve ever wanted to chuck it all away or not, it will be hard not to find yourself cheering for Manny. The author does a brilliant job at tying together the lives and trials of each of the characters, and she does it without rushing, keeping a steady pace and not dragging on (unlike this last sentence!). Although the author had her work cut out for her having to tie in the obstacles for 5 separate characters/families (always such a challenge), she did so with ease.
Fans of Jennifer Weiner and Sarah Mlynowski will enjoy this novel and eagerly wait for her next one.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s