Meeting Sarah Dessen

sarahdessenOn April 19, 2013, I had the opportunity to meet Sarah Dessen during a promotional book tour.  Dessen’s latest book, “What Happened to Goodbye?” was recently released in paperback, and her next book, “The Moon and More,” comes out next month.  Dessen did a short reading from “The Moon and More,” then opened the floor to questions. I cannot remember what all was asked, and I’m sure what I do remember can be found on her website or elsewhere online, but I was pleased to learn that “This Lullaby” was one of her favorite books to write and that she had started to write a sequel but decided against it. “This Lullaby” is and has always been my favorite of her books, so when I got to talk to her I begged her to finish that sequel. I’m sure she won’t, but I have wanted to try my hand at fan fic, so there we go. I was also very excited when she pronounced my name correctly (Rachelle rhymes with Michelle, but I get called Rachel way too often) and told her so.  Yes, I am dorky, but whatever. I’ve been a fan of Dessen since I read, “Keeping the Moon” in 2003. It took me 10 years to finally meet one of my all-time favorite writers!

Leave a Reply

